Djinn Patrol on the Purple Line

Djinn Patrol on the Purple LineThree friends venture into the most dangerous corners of a sprawling Indian city to find their missing classmate Down market lanes crammed with too many people, dogs, and rickshaws, past stalls that smell of cardamom and sizzling oil, below a smoggy sky that doesnt let through a single blade of

The Hidden Girl and Other Stories

The Hidden Girl and Other StoriesFrom award winning author Ken Liu comes his much anticipated second volume of short stories Ken Liu is one of the most lauded short story writers of our time This collection includes a selection of his science fiction and fantasy stories from the last five years sixteen of his best plus a new

Minor Feelings: An Asian American Reckoning

Minor Feelings: An Asian American ReckoningA ruthlessly honest, emotionally charged exploration of the psychological condition of being Asian American, by an award winning poet and essayist Asian Americans inhabit a purgatorial status neither white enough nor black enough, unmentioned in most conversations about racial identity In the

The Only Child

The Only ChildAn eerie and absorbing novel following a criminal psychologist who has discovered shocking and possibly dangerous connections between a serial killer and her stepdaughter Criminal psychologist Seonkyeong receives an unexpected call one day Yi Byeongdo, a serial killer whose gruesome murders shook

Scavenge the Stars (Scavenge the Stars, #1)

Scavenge the Stars (Scavenge the Stars, #1)When Amaya rescues a mysterious stranger from drowning, she fears her rash actions have earned her a longer sentence on the debtor ship where shes been held captive for years Instead, the man she saved offers her unimaginable riches and a new identity, setting Amaya on a perilous course through the

Loveboat, Taipei (Loveboat, Taipei, #1)

Loveboat, Taipei (Loveboat, Taipei, #1)When eighteen year old Ever Wongs parents send her from Ohio to Taiwan to study Mandarin for the summer, she finds herself thrust among the very over achieving kids her parents have always wanted her to be, including Rick Woo, the Yale bound prodigy profiled in the Chinese newspapers since they were

Little Gods

Little GodsMeng Jin is a writer whose sweep is as intimate as it is global Little Gods is a novel about the heart wracking ways in which we move through history and time A fierce and intelligent debut from a writer with longitude and latitude embedded in her vision Colum McCann Combining the emotional

Seven Deadly Shadows

Seven Deadly ShadowsKira Fujikawa has always been a girl on the fringe Bullied by her peers and ignored by her parents, the only place Kiras ever felt at home is at her grandfathers Shinto shrine, where she trains to be a priestess But Kiras life is shattered on the night her familys shrine is attacked by a vicious

The Magical Language of Others

The Magical Language of OthersThe Magical Language of Others is a powerful and aching love story in letters, from mother to daughter After living in America for over a decade, Eun Ji Kohs parents return to South Korea for work, leaving fifteen year old Eun Ji and her brother behind in California Overnight, Eun Ji finds herself

Interior Chinatown

Interior ChinatownFrom the infinitely inventive author of How to Live Safely in a Science Fictional Universe comes a deeply personal novel about race, pop culture, immigration, assimilation, and escaping the roles we are forced to play Willis Wu doesn t perceive himself as a protagonist even in his own life he s

Almost American Girl

Almost American GirlA powerful and timely teen graphic novel memoirperfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddoabout a Korean born, non English speaking girl who is abruptly transplanted from Seoul to Huntsville, Alabama, and struggles with extreme culture shock and isolation, until she discovers her

Run Me to Earth

Run Me to EarthFrom award winning author Paul Yoon comes a beautiful, aching novel about three kids orphaned in 1960s Laosand how their destinies are entwined across decades, anointed by Hernan Diaz as one of those rare novels that stays with us to become a standard with which we measure other books.Alisak, Prany,

This Light Between Us

This Light Between UsFrom award winning YA author Andrew Fukuda comes The Light Between Us, a powerfully affecting story of World War II about the unlikeliest of pen pals a Japanese American boy and a French Jewish girl as they fight to maintain hope in a time of war I remember visiting Manzanar Camp in California