Why We Can't Sleep: Women's New Midlife Crisis

Why We Can't Sleep: Women's New Midlife CrisisWhen Ada Calhoun found herself in the throes of a midlife crisis, she thought that she had no right to complain She was married with children and a good career So why did she feel miserable And why did it seem that other Generation X women were miserable, too Calhoun decided to find some

The Magical Language of Others

The Magical Language of OthersThe Magical Language of Others is a powerful and aching love story in letters, from mother to daughter After living in America for over a decade, Eun Ji Koh s parents return to South Korea for work, leaving fifteen year old Eun Ji and her brother behind in California Overnight, Eun Ji finds

Tightrope: Americans Reaching for Hope

Tightrope: Americans Reaching for HopeThe Pulitzer Prize winning authors of the acclaimed, best selling Half the Sky now issue a plea deeply personal and told through the lives of real Americans to address the crisis in working class America, while focusing on solutions to mend a half century of governmental failure With stark

Children of the Land

Children of the LandThis unforgettable memoir from a prize winning poet about growing up undocumented in the United States recounts the sorrows and joys of a family torn apart by draconian policies and chronicles one young man s attempt to build a future in a nation that denies his existence You were not a ghost even

Almost American Girl

Almost American GirlA powerful and timely teen graphic novel memoir perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo about a Korean born, non English speaking girl who is abruptly transplanted from Seoul to Huntsville, Alabama, and struggles with extreme culture shock and isolation, until she discovers her

The Art of Resistance

The Art of Resistance99 year old literature professor Justus Rosenberg escaped the Holocaust and spent four daring years in the French Underground during World War II Now he finally writes his own unforgettable epic A gripping memoir from an Eastern European Jew who fought in the French Resistance The narrative

Cub

CubRaina Telgemeier fans will lap this up Bulletin of the Center for Children s Books A laugh out loud funny and empowering graphic memoir about growing up and finding your voice Twelve year old Cindy has just dipped a toe into seventh grade drama with its complicated friendships, bullies, and

The Oldest Student: How Mary Walker Learned to Read

The Oldest Student: How Mary Walker Learned to ReadImagine learning to read at the age of 116 Discover the true story of Mary Walker, the nation s oldest student who did just that, in this picture book from a Caldecott Honor winning illustrator and a rising star author In 1848, Mary Walker was born into slavery At age 15, she was freed, and by

Fred's Big Feelings: The Life and Legacy of Mister Rogers

Fred's Big Feelings: The Life and Legacy of Mister RogersAn inspiring picture book biography about the inimitable Fred Rogers, beloved creator and star of Mister Rogers Neighborhood.Fred Rogers was a quiet boy with big feelings Sometimes, he felt scared or lonely at other times, he was playful and joyous But when Fred s feelings felt too big, his